A Fundraising Garden Party was held at Collon House, on Saturday 17th June 2017 2 - 5pm.
The Lourdes Brass Band from Drogheda played. See Link to Lourdes Brass Band
- Guided tour of the Church building, and walk around historic Collon Village.
- Childrens activities
- Cake sales
Fundraising launch on 13 May 2017
On Saturday 13 May, 2017 at 11.00am in Collon Church – Friends of Collon Church launched a major fundraising drive to re-slate the outer roof on this historic building, so that the stunning plaster ceiling can be saved.
Seamus Roe (Joint-Secretary of Louth Archaeological and Historical Society)
1. Dr Christine Casey, Associate Professor of Architectural
History, Trinity College Dublin
Christine spoke about the architecture of the building
2. John Rountree, Chairman of Friends of Collon Church CLG
John described the fundraising so far.
3. Mairead McGuinness, MEP, First Vice-President of
European Parliament with responsibility for the Parliament’s
dialogue with religious and non-confessional organisations.
Mairead formally launched a major public fundraisingappeal to save the building.
On the south side of the church is a group of three Russian Orthodox Cross headstones marking the graves of a family who fled the October Revolution in 1917 and who eventually settled in Collon in the 1930s. One headstone commemorates Nikolai Ivanovich Couriss (1896-1977) and a second his wife Ksenia Nikolaevna Couriss (née Bibikova) (1895-1966) who is reputed to have been a lady-in-waiting to the last Czarina. A colourful rumour once circulated that Couriss taught Russian to intelligence agents and, although never substantiated, photographs exist which are said to show George Blake (b. 1922), the double agent, at Collon